Subject to mortgage investing

7 Replies

Hi everyone,

I'm just getting started with little experience and minimal financial resources. How do I take my first step with subject to deals?  Also, are there any local investors in the Tampa Bay Area that can teach me about land trusts for our state through this site? I've become familiar with subject to investing but would love to learn more about these deals in my market. Also, how do I create the contracts needed for these deals? I'm very humble and just simply want to get my start this year as I am highly motivated and eager to learn. I live in the Tampa Bay Area (Pasco County, Florida). 

@Roberta James

Welcome. The more you learn the more valuable you are.

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and rehabbers (cash buyers). Find them through Google and meetup.com

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses, The Book on Estimating ReHab Costs http://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Consider checking out HUD homes for small multi's owner occupied gets first crack.

You might consider Niche or Specialized Housing like student housing. Rents can be 2-4 times more. Remember you don't have to own a property to control it.

Download BP’s newest book here some good due diligence in Chapter 10. Real Estate Rewind Starting over

http://www.biggerpockets.com/files/user/brandonatbp/file/real-estate-rewind-a-biggerpockets-community-book

Good Luck

Paul 

Paul,