Ready to get started

13 Replies

Hey everyone, 

I've been reading through the forums, listening to the podcasts and I am truly inspired every time I'm on this site. It keeps me motivated. I am currently a full time student, with about two years left until I get my bachelors degree and I am also working a part time job. I am interested in doing buy and holds, and would love to own multi family properties. Starting out, I would like to try and do a fix and flip to raise some capital for other projects down the road. Without any experience, I am not sure which niche I will want to pursue.  I live in the western suburbs outside of Chicago, specifically Aurora/ Naperville. It's pretty pricy out here and my wife and I are also new to the area so we are not very familiar with the surrounding cities.  I'm from the Detroit metro area and have mojority of my family there. My father and cousin are both contractors with their own companies and I was thinking about potentially trying to find a deal there to start. I am not opposed to trying a flip here in this area as well. We do not see ourselves living here upon completion of my degree, but I don't want that to hold me back from starting a deal. I am ready to pull the trigger but am unsure of the steps needed to be taken as well as how to find the right deals.

Sorry this wasn't really a question, rather an introduction but I am mainly looking for local people in my area with the same interests and who are willing to network! I am open to any and all suggestions, thank you in advance.

Tony,

Welcome Tony!!!

Read the Ultimate Beginner's Guide at biggerpockets.com/ubg and reread!

Listen to as many podcasts as possible and take notes.

Ask questions on the forums everyday using key words that are in your market such as "Chicago", other investors will be alerted and will see you.

Find mentors in your local REIA (real estate investor association)