What does it mean to start a team?

6 Replies

Hi guys, my name is Alain,

Complete newbie to REI, but am currently reading 1 book a week to catch up with the game! As I have been researching and learning from countless REI books and webinar/seminars, one of the most important things that was noted was to build a bulletproof team.

According to this blog: http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2006/03/15...

In order for me to succeed, I would require people listed on this blog to have a winning team. Now, I do have a silly question. Am I suppose to contact these people everyday, or only when the need arises?

I know I am suppose to network, and e-mail them to refresh their memories of me, but I am just having a hard time trying to visualize a scenario on how I would use their services, as I have no experience of being a landlord yet.

Thanks in advance
- Alain

Hi @Alain Yu,

No questions are silly on the forum :)

While the list of people on the link you provided may be used, you may also not need them on your 'team' depending on what type of investing you are pursuing. For example, if you aren't going to rent out a property, you don't need a property manager. This is also a function that you could fill yourself, if you choose to do so. 

To answer your specific question, you would contact them when the need arises or perhaps once in a great while in a social setting just to keep in touch. Real estate doesn't function like a traditional job, where you setup meetings weeks in advance and invite everyone from the team to attend (regardless of whether their presence is needed or not). Most of my interactions are one on one and strictly about a specific deal. I would highly discourage contacting them frequently if you don't have business to perform, as this could cause you to be ignored and labeled as a waste of time. Most entrepreneurs are very busy and have to allocate resources where they see the most potential for profit.

-Christopher