Seller Will Carry...???

10 Replies

I am new to the RE World as I have said before so I am looking for some help with this topic.

I am currently looking at Multi-Family Units and came across a 4 Plex that is fully rented, good area etc....and in the post it says Owner WILL Carry. I am not sure what that exactly means or how I should handle it and what to look out for. Is this a good thing or is it a Bad thing and what potential risks might there be?

I would start with the financing. It's all about the terms.

How much do they want down? What is the interest rate and amortization period? What is the payment? What are their requirements to qualify for the financing? 

With owner financing, you can over pay for a property if the terms allow the income to cover these three points: 

1. Pay back the loan

2. Cover ALL the expenses

3. Pay you for the trouble

The problems come when you can not do all of these.

Others might suggest you get the numbers together on the building before you worry about the financing. I am assuming you are trying to cash flow the property. Will the rents make the payment, cover expenses and allow you to put back sufficient amounts for cap ex? If not, do you have a reserve or income to cover any shortfalls? If the payment can not cover the costs then you are counting on appreciation. If the note is a non-recourse note (they can't sue you personally if you don't pay) then you can take a chance on it without losing more than your investment of time and money. Whatever that may be. 

I love owner financing. Just make sure you get your numbers right!

Paul Choate JD | 405‑426‑9677

@Paul Choate