Self Managing

76 Replies

I am brand new to real estate investing (I don't even have a property yet!).  I would really like to self manage to save money, and I think I have the ability to.  My father and I can take care of plumbing and electrical issues, but I'm also considering things like mowing the lawn and even snow removal as I live in upstate New York (about a half hour north of Albany, just to give some perspective).  What happens when I have 5-10 properties one day?  Am I spending my time mowing 5-10 lawns every week?  And when it snows...should I be considering a plow for my truck?  How do you all handle these situations?  Do you hire a lawn care company in the summer and have people bid on a plowing contract in the winter?  I just want to know what to expect once I become a landlord.

Thank you!

I say that if its going to be 1 property for now then it's ok to do things your self if you know what you're doing at least if its to save money. If you're going to plan on getting other properties then its best if you then start hiring company year round to take care of those things. if you dont you wont have any time for your self because you'll be so busy taking care of the property. Just make sure that the properties that you're buying will be bringing in enough money to support those expenses. 

Agreed with @Christopher Oliver .

One way to avoid having to plow and mow the lawn is to purchase a single family (assuming the numbers work in your market) and make the tenant responsible for those tasks.

I find myself cutting the grass every other week at the properties that are not yet occupied and one other where the tenant is having health problems and it's a small yard anyway.  Every now and then I find myself doing some small repairs as well if I don't feel like it is worth tasking out to someone like replacing an appliance, water heater, faucet, fixing/replacing a toilet, door or window.