Turnkey with high cashflow in great area... Not sure about that.

6 Replies

Hello All,

I'm just getting started in investing and have been reading several financial blogs lately... They all seem to be jumping for joy on their cashflow property that is bringing in $300/m net that cost them around $50,000 to purchase. These are out of state turnkey investments that they say are in a "C class neighborhoods," however I'd disagree. More like war zones if you'd ask me.

I haven't been able to find any of these bloggers/investors who have held their turnkey investment in so called "C class neighborhoods," for more than a year... Does anyone have a similar investment that has stood the test of time? Owned it for more than 5 years roughly? I'd be really interested to see how these investments last once you factor in a longer time horizon, allowing for theft and bad tenets to do damage...

A house that cost only $50,000 that brings in $300/m sounds great, but... In those kinds of neighborhoods...? Not sure if that's profitable long term. Thoughts?

Thanks!

@William S.

I would have to agree with you. There are several factors to take into account. 

If you are referring to an investor buying from a TK company, for $50k it would be hard to achieve $300 in even gross cash flow assuming conventional financing. The ROI is much higher but the cash flow is only decent. In my market, if you took a $50k home and say it rents for $650, assuming 30yr loan with 20% down plus $4k closing cost at 9% property management, $500 in yearly insurance and $1,000 yearly taxes your gonna get around $250 in gross monthly cash flow. When you start to factor in vacancy, repairs and even potential capex you will only look at about $125 in net cash flow.