Am I ready to buy my first deal?

15 Replies

Hello, and my name is Bryce and I just turned 20. I live In Lincoln Nebraska (modest priced midwest real estate for the most part). I have an internship as a property manager of 184 properties, and I have learned SO MUCH about land lording in the past few months. The properties I mainly take care of are below average in condition, and the owner bought them as "Pigs" and put a little money into them and rents them out. 

I have been itching to invest in real estate since I was 18. I have read heavily on the subject, and I believe I know much more about evaluating a deal before buying it than a few other people did from the podcast stories I've heard. I have roughly $25,000 to my name from saving while I worked as a kid, and also my college fund no longer needed because of my scholarships. 

What is holding me back (give me feedback if you can help):

1. Am I too young to be taken seriously by a bank? Even with a 20-25% downpayment

2. Is buying a pig and putting some money into it too dangerous in a "college town"

3. How difficult is it to refinance? I will need to pull my money back out if I want to continue

4. I still am not an expert on the loan process, as well as hiring contractors, inspectors etc.. (the contractors that work for my boss are probably too busy to pick up extra work)

5. Isn't the market at a peak? I have read a lot about another dip, as the stocks have been leading just like last time (Yes I know our loan situation is better than 2007)

Thank you guys so much! Any feedback is a huge help. 

@Bryce Ewing

1) Age really has nothing to do with the bank taking you "seriously". Based on my experience, how serious they take you depends on how serious you act and how well you present yourself and your business. The biggest limiting factor is going to be your credit, income, and assets - they always take those seriously.