Low cost areas in New Jersey to start out investing

23 Replies

Hey all, I'm just learning the ropes on investing. I live in NJ where taxes are high. Anyone have thoughts on area where there are single family or duplexes under 150K with reasonable cash flow in the NJ /Eastern Pennsylvania area?

Lou

Hi @Louis Friedman and welcome to BP!

Taxes are high, but rents are, for the most part, commensurately high.  Just run the numbers.  You'd have to look in the lower income areas, such as paterson, newark, irvington, trenton, and the like.  Personally, I am not bold enough to go there.  But some people are making tons of money in those areas!

I also am interested in the Phillipsburg/Easton area, but it is a little too far for me at this time.  Hopefully one day.  I've been there a couple times and I really like it.

Good luck!

Welcome to BP @Louis Friedman ! I'm also new the NJ market. I agree with @Simcha Davidman and @Louis Friedman that there are some good deals in those areas but make sure you get to know the permit lag time if you are doing any rehabs. Some hard money lenders won't lend to you if you are buying some of towns like East Orange which has good deals but takes a long time to obtain permits. Good luck!

Hey @Louis Friedman welcome to BP! 

As @Simcha Davidman noted there are some lower income areas that offer cheap duplexes and single family homes. The only issue is that some of those places can be like a war zone. Like Simcha, I wouldn't invest there especially if you're just starting out. 

I wouldn't discount Sussex county. I've seen duplexes up there for 60k-100k. Some need work and extensive rehab but again it could provide a good ROI. Depending on the quality of the unit and location, rents for a 2bd 1ba could go for 1k-1200/mo. I'm pretty familiar with the area and am a local agent so if you need anything feel free to send me a PM.

Good Luck!