Strategy for a 23 yr old starting out with $100k+ year salary.

17 Replies

Hi There!

Thanks for stopping by. I caught the real estate bug just a few months ago and am now very eager to get started with my first investment deal and looking to hear your opinions on how I should lay out my strategy moving forward

I could write several paragraphs laying out my situation but I decided that it'll probably be easier to read it in a bullet/list form. With that, listed below are, what I think, significant details of my current situation and end goals. Please let me know if you guys need additional information or have any questions.

Current State:

• I'm 23 and live with my fiance in Bothell, WA (Snohomish County).
  • I work in IT full time and make a little bit over $100,000. Currently looking to save over AT LEAST 25% of my annual salary. Have about $20,000 saved up so far.
  • Also a full time undergrad student (Using the GI Bill, this allows me to pocket an extra $2600 per/mo for Monthly Housing Allowance while I'm in school)
  • I financed my first primary residence in Oct 2016, using the VA Loan with $0 down for $470,000. 
  • Current estimated value is over $500,000 (Possible $30,000 of Home Equity Line of credit for capital?)

Current Strategy/Goal:

• Cash flow through rental properties *Likely out of state due to the expensive area that I live in. OR cash flow where I'm currently at if I partner up with other investors
  • Turn-key rentals (I'm anticipating to have my bandwidth to be stretched thin due to full time work and school, although this doesn't negate the fact that I will make the necessary adjustments if needed)
  • Buy and Hold
  • Open to the idea of flipping as well but I have zero experience in anything construction related.