Advantages of obtaining RE License?

14 Replies

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to BP & learning about REI. I'm curious if, when starting out, you find it helpful to get a Real Estate License? Assuming this answer is situational upon which route someone decides to take, I can tell you that I've been interested in SF holds, BRRR, and Duplex/Triplex/Quads.

Any advice around this topic would be very helpful! 

@Luke Grieshop ,

like you mentioned it depends on situation. Just FYI, getting/keeping RE license is expensive. IDK about AZ, but in NC it costs min of $2k to maintain your license if you want to get access to MLS. And the RE classes are time consuming and a lot of cramming.....

That being said having RE license is certainly helpful. For me, I got the license, because I want to be able to look at the properties in MLS without waiting on agents to reply back, because every minutes count in my market.

Also, since I am planning to acquire 2+ properties a year, it would make sense for me to get license, since the commission as a buyer agent pays more than enough for that $2k RE license fee/yr. 

I am a licensed agent.  I use it for comping and to list my own properties because it makes the negotiation process quick and easy. 

@Luke Grieshop

I'm in the midst of getting my license now and my primary objective is to save on commissions (which can turn a meh deal into a do-able one) and have access to properties without having to wait for an agent. As Roy had stated, becoming a realtor can be quite expensive. I only plan to stay as an agent to begin with and work my way up from there as I still have a 9-5 and do not plan to quit that anytime soon and spending the money to be a realtor isn't worth it to me just yet.

Thanks for the input, all! Really helpful

@Luke Grieshop - Pros:
- You can visit any property you want at any time.