Parents want to invest and so do I.

7 Replies

Hi BP, 

So Im a senior about to graduate. Im already married and my wife and I are very excited to get started in this line of work. Im a firm believer that if there is a will, there is a way. 

A possible opportunity showed itself to us recently and I wanted to get a few opinions. Ive been talking to my parents a little about REI and it seems to have peaked their interest. My parents want to put their money into an investment property. They have a lot more capital than we do and excellent credit. How can my wife and I use this to our advantage? How can we make this a good partnership?

Thanks in advance for any help!

@Robert Ian Oldroyd What value do you bring to the table?  Why should you benefit from their investment?

@LarryT

My parents haven’t done much homework so they don’t really know much about finding a deal. Also, they are close to retiring and I thought that I could handle the management of the property. What do you think?

To @Larry T. 's point, trying to figure out how to structure the deal is probably of the utmost significance in your particular situation. 

Oftentimes what I see is that millennials might have good income (or will have good income hopefully in your situation), but they don't have the equity for a down payment. As a result, typically I see the parents provide down payment and fix up costs functioning like the equity partner while the millennial manages the project and provides their time. 

Obviously I'd suggest looking to get as many units as possible to either offset your costs or to get a return for your parents. In an ideal world, you and your wife occupy one unit and the remaining units pay down the mortgage and ideally get your parents some profit. Hopefully when you and your wife move out, you can split the profits with your parents.