Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

6 Replies

Hello my name is David, I’m from Dallas, tx. I’m new to the bigger pockets forums. I would greatly appreciate help with advice on what to do with my current profit of my house and how to get started. My current project profit it’s 83k. Any advice in what to spend on or how to begin on this would be helpful.

@David Cervantes

Welcome to the site! I would figure out what route of investing you would like to go. But and Hold, BRRR Strategy, Renovation Loans, Fix and Flip. There are benefits and drawbacks to all financing and investing methods. A big strategy that many investors choose to go is to purchase a property that needs some work to create equity in the property. You can Buy, Rehab, Refinance - to get your cash out and then Repeat. To go the Renovation route, you would purchase with the required down payment and then renovate with the financing. This method requires less out of pocket and allows you to get into properties that do not qualify for financing. Let me know if you have questions on these financing methods.

Hello Jerry thank you for taking the time to help. I’m considering looking for a buy an hold propertie. Ideally after listening tot he podcast would love if a could find something with a main house and rental suite. Do you think I can use some of the money for financing and some for renovations.

Just to be clear you mean your planning on selling your current house and then buying a new duplex? Depends on your price range and your financing options. Assuming you put 20% down of $200,000 your looking at about 45k for down payment and closing costs leaving 38k for renovations which should be plenty.

The most terrifying phrase in RE.   I got my info from a PODCAST!  Do what you did to get your $83k profit,

Based on what you have already said here, I would slow down and educate myself. 

As Jodi said above, don't just roll with what you're hearing in the podcast.