Is my skepticism holding me back?

18 Replies

So I'm very new to the game. I haven't completed a deal yet. I'm analyzing constantly and think I found a decent deal. The numbers can work with the use of private money (family friend). My hesitation is "Why hasn't another investor scooped up this property yet?" It's been on MLS 110 days. It's a small row home that needs about $50k in work (listing agent's number, I'd definitely confirm). And my reno would be a bit less because we'd be doing some ourselves. Listed at $80k but my agent says the seller is HIGHLY motivated (older, in the hospital). I want to offer $45k if the $50k reno is accurate. ARV $130k and the area has been growing. ie 50% rental growth in 2 years. Current rent around $1300. So my question is...

"Why hasn't another investor scooped up this property yet?"

My guess would be it may need more rehab (never trust the listing agent's number always do your own) and maybe the seller isn't motivated enough to sell for almost half of their list price.

Originally posted by @Elizabeth Connelly :

So I'm very new to the game. I haven't completed a deal yet. I'm analyzing constantly and think I found a decent deal. The numbers can work with the use of private money (family friend). My hesitation is "Why hasn't another investor scooped up this property yet?" It's been on MLS 110 days. It's a small row home that needs about $50k in work (listing agent's number, I'd definitely confirm). And my reno would be a bit less because we'd be doing some ourselves. Listed at $80k but my agent says the seller is HIGHLY motivated (older, in the hospital). I want to offer $45k if the $50k reno is accurate. ARV $130k and the area has been growing. ie 50% rental growth in 2 years. Current rent around $1300. So my question is...

"Why hasn't another investor scooped up this property yet?"

Sorry but id trust other investors over you.    WHY?  Because you are new........lol. $50 k is quite a lot of work on a lower priced property.