Where do I start! im lost on what to study specifically

13 Replies

Hi, my name is sharif hasan and im 18 years old and am going to school to get my real estate license next spring. My background is stock trading and investing since i was 16 years old. I was always focused on investing in real estate since i was already developing a investing mindset through stocks. Now that im at the age, im stuck, i do not know what to study. I like to be proactive when i'm into something. I picked up some books about LLCs and developing a business and ordered a real estate law for dummies book lately. But  i am still feeling like im not making the right moves. Like should i be analyzing properties in my area day in and day out or should i continue to focus on just the law side of everything? please help me out. Thank you. By the way, huge thanks to biggerpockets

Albuquerque new mexico

I would first ask your self what area of real estate investment am I looking to invest in.

I'm a newbie myself; started really looking into real estate since maybe July or August this year. Really interested in wholesaling. Read a lot on it; watch videos. Just attended a meeting last night about it. Recently I take addresses of vacant looking houses and look up who own's it, tax info, etc. 

Hey Sharif,

I hope all is well in New Mexico! Probably a lot warmer than it is up in RI.

Anyways, I would like to know more about your knowledge in finance? I feel as though that is the hardest part for most RE investors to grasp. You’re on the right track though by picking up and reading about every aspect of RE investing.

On a base level, RE and finance (stock trading) are similar. You’re trying to capitalize on inefficiencies of the market. Just be weary that RE is much more long term and I have found that many finance ideologies do not transfer directly to real estate.