*NEED ADVICE* Brand New Career Uncertain About Investment Future

1 Reply

Good Morning BP Nation,

I have a burning question that's been on my mind for a few weeks now. I just graduated college and started my Financial Analyst job in Greenville, NC and it has been quite the ride already. Very long hours although I plan on staying here for AT LEAST 1 year  and I've been researching the local market for about 6 months now.

I am currently paying rent which I know is a cardinal sin here in BP nation, my question to you is should I be looking into an investment property (single-family home with roommates/multi-family duplex with a roommate and renting the complete other unit)? I know I will be here for at least a year possibly longer so I need to hear other opinions. Paying rent is essentially shredding my money and throwing it away so I would love to hear some feedback on what y'all think!

Thank you so much in advance,

Sebastian Kressley

Hi @Sebastian Kressley

First of all, congratulations on graduating and the new job!

As for your current living situation, I don't feel as if paying rent right now should be frowned upon, for the following reasons:

1- As long as you're not taking on the entire cost yourself by living alone, I am sure your rent payment is not nearly as much as a 1 bedroom place would be.  

2- If you do have to rent, which in this situation it appears you do currently, although it doesn't build equity, it may give you time to learn the market around you while paying minimal rent (No swanky water-front apartment with all of the amenities, this is obviously extremely pricey)