Pay Off Student Loans or Invest in Real Estate?

16 Replies

Hello BP!

I am a recent college grad, and have been lucky enough to graduate with a relatively low amount of debt compared to the average grad. I have been actively paying off my debt each month, and at this time, I have about $16K left to pay.

Over the past couple months I have become more and more serious about investing in real estate. I've spent a majority of my free time educating myself about the process by reading books, forum posts, listening to podcasts, etc. So far, I have set my first goal of purchasing a residential MFR property in 2018 in the Metro Detroit market.

My question here is - would you pay off the rest of your student debt before investing in a rental property?

Let me know!

Hey Brandon,

It depends on many factors including the interest rate (and type) of the debt and how much cash reserve you have. In general, I'd recommend making sure that you've secured one income stream (typically your W-2 job starting out) and building up some cash for emergencies before investing.

Hey Brandon,

I'm currently still in college and own a few rental properties in the Metro Detroit area. I owe about 7k in student loans thats to be paid over 10 years. I would recommend making sure you have consistent cash flow (job) and reserves. I usually pay a 100/month on student loans which is over my minimum payment to help pay it off sooner. If your financial situation allows you I would budget for both saving for you MFR and debt paydown

@Keyonte Summers Hey Keyonte - you own a few rentals and are still in college? That's impressive! I'd love to hear your strategy/game plan on investing while in school and with debt.

As of today, I have about $16K left in debt. I do have a secure, full time job that I have been at for about 2.5 years. I am also paying off my loan well above the minimum payment.

Originally posted by @Brandon Jurczyszyn :