Best way to invest $250,000

15 Replies

Hey BiggerPockets! 

Im new to BP and soon to be working towards my first "major" move as an investor.  After selling my logistics business and 2 rental properties Im looking to leverage $200,000 - 300,000 cash the best way possible to achieve long term financial freedom.   Although I have the luxury of a small pool of capital I would prefer to start slow by managing as much of the process myself to save time and gain experience. 

Im leaning towards applying BRRRR method on a multifamily or a few 2-3 bedroom units that are in good areas to maximize cash flow (open to furnished rentals VRBO, AirBnb, etc).  Im also considering living in the first property that I rehab to gain direct experience in the project managing and/or finding a good GC. 

I am targeting Chicago and the surrounding areas for now but eventually open to less established markets.  Would love the portfolio to net $8-10K per month after 5 yrs and a few low risks transactions (BRRRR).

Does 10-15% cap rate exist on $750,000 - 1,000,000 multi unit buildings assuming I needed to put 20% down?  Or smarter to hope for 10%+ average cap rate on several smaller units?  

Any words of wisdom based on success (or failure) taking a similar route would be greatly appreciated!!

Jake

@Jake Fugman it sounds like you’ve thought this through, and have an idea of what you’re looking for. This is half the battle. 

I think you’ll find cap rates about half of what you’re looking for in this market. If you dig or go to tertiary markets you can find the returns you’re looking for. 

Number of units will also be a factor. 

Hey Jake,

Welcome to BP! There are many routes you can take in your current situation, here is one. 

1) Use current equity on flips to multiply your cash, to buy a larger rental portfolio/property.