Newbie from north of Toronto, Ontraio

6 Replies

Hey folks,

Newbie here currently in the education stage. I'm currently working a 9-5 job in mid management, but looking to one day quit the rat race and hopefully focus on REI full time. Would like to eventually have enough $ to put towards my kids education, travel and retire early. That's my why.

Anyway, I'm sure this likely has been asked before but does anyone have any tips on investing in a higher priced market? Being a newbie I wouldn't say I'm entirely comfortable in doing anything long-distance for my first purchase. If anyone's familiar with Ontario, I've been looking in the Barrie area. A couple of advantages I have going for me are a good credit rating and access to my HELOC.

Thanks all.

@AJ Alexander ! I love your plan and your goals. They are pretty much my goals as well. I'm in North York and investing in Barrie, Guelph, and Chatham so far. I also meet a lot of people at various meet ups who invest in GTA including Barrie. Let me know if there's anything I can help you out with. Please feel free to email/call any time. Good luck with all the future deals!! 

@AJ Alexander Great to see you taking action! I was a long-time GTA resident before moving to Calgary (and now Dallas). I would suggest deciding what your goals and objectives are. For instance, if you're in middle-management, then active investing might not be the best fit for you. As such you could look into pooled money vehicles and other areas in your local market. 

If you're purchasing SFRs (single family residences), then I would suggest attending a few local REIAs or even getting advice from @Sarah Larbi . She's a successful, local investor who should be able to guide you.

If you do decide to invest south of the border, please, DO NOT get an American coach. The vast majority have little or no idea on the tax and other implications of investing and their standard answer is "invest and you will make great returns".