Will Dennis
  • Beverly, NJ
Votes |
Several Newbie Questions

Will Dennis
  • Beverly, NJ
Posted Apr 15 2018, 07:39

Hi guys,

Thank you all for welcoming me to BiggerPockets and for reading over my first post!

My name is Will, and I live in San Marcos, TX. I am very new to the field of real estate investing, but have been reading everything I can get my hands on from Bigger Pockets and other sources for several months now.

To summarize my situation, I am just starting out (currently in the process of searching for my first investment property), and I seem to have more questions than answers in certain areas. Hoping you guys can help! Here are my top three questions below.

1) When I search for properties on Realtor.com or any of the other listing sites, there is often a rough estimate given on how much the monthly mortgage payment will be. What I don't understand is I'll see a property for roughly $100,000 give a mortgage estimate of let's say $900/mo, but then I'll look at a property for $200,000+ and it will list the mortgage estimate at let's say $1,100. If the property price is double (or more than double), why isn't the mortgage estimate double as well?

2) I am still struggling with the concept of how buy and hold real estate "builds wealth." To keep the example simple, if I purchase a duplex worth $100,000, comes with a monthly mortgage payment of $1,000, and I charge my renter $1,000/mo. in rent- all I am doing (in my mind) is breaking even. I understand that my renter is helping to pay off my mortgage and build equity, but where does the "wealth" part come in? Where does the "free and clear, automated income" part come in? Even if I have multiple properties, how is the simple fact that my renters are paying off my mortgage helping me to "build wealth?"