Mobile homes??? Good investment?

5 Replies

Hi all, I am new to investing and thrilled to get going. I am looking at small multi families BUT mobile homes seem very attractive. Basically cash sales or very low investment for a very modest but completely positive cash flow. My broker tells me I am crazy but I can’t help but think she has her $$ in mind. Am I crazy, is there more than meets the eye? I get there is no appreciation but if I have the cash why not have the steady income? Tenant quality and reliability would be my main issue. I am in the Boston area new. Is it basically a push. Save the $$ and headaches?
Originally posted by @Brian Kosack :
Hi all, I am new to investing and thrilled to get going. I am looking at small multi families BUT mobile homes seem very attractive. Basically cash sales or very low investment for a very modest but completely positive cash flow. My broker tells me I am crazy but I can’t help but think she has her $$ in mind. Am I crazy, is there more than meets the eye? I get there is no appreciation but if I have the cash why not have the steady income? Tenant quality and reliability would be my main issue. I am in the Boston area new. Is it basically a push. Save the $$ and headaches?

Everything considered it is probably a good business model for those investors who have the ability to deal with people with "more limited" resources. I was in a nice doublewide in Santa Barbara CA (Carpinteria CA) that sold for $750,000 and I was in a single wide in Seattle that sold for $600. And there is everything in between. Location and condition play a huge role. Some you can get financing on but many you can not and it is a cash transaction. Narrow down your market and you can make some good money.

@Brian Kosack   If you mean buying a mobile home PARK, there have been a couple of BP podcasts on the topic and yes, they seem like good investments.