Advice For an Out of State Investor Buying in Ohio

8 Replies

I've been studying real estate opportunities for a little over a year now. I understand the vocabulary, but I'm looking to dive in. Currently looking for a triplex or small apartment building around the Dayton area in Ohio, preferably closer to Wright Patterson AFB. I am however, open to comparable comps. I am a first time investor and I would be an out of state investor. I know this is a rookie post, but any advice or guidance is greatly appreciated.

Welcome Cameron!  Sounds just like how I got started last year.  Talk to @Roger Smart , he can hook you up with the local MLS and start finding you deals. If you are ever back home, networking at the local BP meetups run by @Darrin Carey is awesome.  

@Charlie Cameron , thanks for the mention! @Cameron Silva , I am a Dayton Local Agent and Investor. I help local and out of state investors purchase and sell profitable properties in the Greater Dayton Area. I would love to have the chance to talk to you. I will send you a direct message with my contact information. I look forward to speaking with you soon. 

@Lane Kawaoka  Overall, this is a stable rental market with slow rent increases (lots of supply). I've generally pushed rents up about 5% to 7% from last year, but didn't get much increase for a couple years before that. if I do appearance and energy upgrades I get superior rent for the neighborhood.

The precise location of your building will impact your ability to increase rent.