Can I find off market properties and refer to investors?

3 Replies

Hi everyone

I am new to real estate and I recently was hired by a real estate investment firm part time unpaid to help them find off market multi-unit properties. If I was to find them a property and the deal was to go through I would get a portion of the acquisition cost. I no longer work with them due to the fact that I still work a full time job, but I am thinking of venturing out on my own. I have a sales background and wanted to reach out to property owners and then deliver potential off market listings to real estate investors in my area. Only problem is I am unsure of the legal parameters here as I am not technically working for an investor and I am not technically an agent or broker. Would I still be able to be paid an acquisition fee. Thanks in advance for the help!

@Sophie Lavet Assuming you do not put the property under contract, you could still be paid a finders fee from the buyer--whatever you agree to.  You might not be very protected, but I think you'll find that a good buyer will keep their word because they'll want future deals from you.