HELOC on an investment property

13 Replies

Hi there! I'm new to REI as of early 2018, turning my previous home into a rental and acquiring a long-distance turn key rental shortly thereafter. I'd really like to keep my momentum moving, and am trying to determine the best way to utilize the current equity of my previous home turned rental in Austin, TX. It is currently appraised around $275k, and I have $161k left on the mortgage. The rate is fixed at 3.75%, so I'd rather not do a cash-out-refi and lose the cashflow I currently make off the property. I'd also like to know if a HELOC can be attached to an investment property, as I've heard different answers to that question. I'm going to be moving my focus to Fix and Flip or BRRRR deals and access to those funds would be nice. I'm sure others have had similar situations, so I'm looking for advice. Thanks.

William,

I have a HELOC on one of my rental properties and I’ve been shopping around for a better LTV for my other properties. You can absolutely get one, but they will typically be for a lower amount than on a primary residence, and sometimes a slightly higher interest rate. I’ve seen (locally to Virginia Beach) about 75%. For example, if you got a HELOC at 75% LTV they calculate it by multiplying your 275k by 75% to get about 206k, then they subtract your remaining principle of 161, which would get you a HELOC value of about 45k.

Good luck!!

Best,
Rhett

I think its smart to think about a HELOC while the market's high. It's a nice asset protection move and a way to become a small lender as well.

If you're looking to grow your cash flow, then look at the big picture. The cash flow comes because there's a margin between your income and expenses.

If you put the HELOC to work via loans/notes.gap funding etc., then you can make more income even though your expenses go up.