How do you prepare for Tax Season?

12 Replies

Hello, I just purchased my first duplex last month.  What is your practices for preparing for tax season?

Should I scan all receipts, keep in a folder on my desktop? or keep a binder of all receipts?
Is excel good a good thing to use to keep track on Income/Expenses, helpful to a tax advisor or accountant?

What have you found to be a simple/stress free way of keeping your business organized financially? 

Thank you for your time.

I upload digital copies of all documents to my cpas website throughout the year. When I get them all, they file my taxes. Easy peezy

Hi Shane,

I can speak from experience as I am a Tax Accountant that deals with a lot of Real Estate Clients. Each client is different and so is each accountant's preferences. 

Assuming you don't do bookkeeping in a program such as Quickbooks or Xero and only keep receipts to keep track of expenses I would highly recommend preparing an excel of all expenses. 

It could really save your accountant a lot of time which means a lower bill for your tax work. Of course the accountant should double check your numbers, but will save them a lot of time from doing tedious work.

Not sure if you are familiar with Dropbox or Google Doc's. Would recommend looking into using a cloud based storage folder simply because you can access these documents from any location, won't loose them if your computer goes down & if your CPA is tech savy you could invite them to the folder where they could access the files in that folder. 

There's a lot of cloud based solutions to keep organized and minimize work.

If you have any questions, I'd be glad to help. 

Hey Steve,

I am pretty handy with excel and making financial documents, I was not quite sure if that was adequate for a Tax Accountant, I also would be scanning all receipts into "monthly/Yearly" folders.  Also, should I separate every Property in a different excel sheet? or as far as every UNIT on a different excel sheet?