New To RE Investing - Where can I start?

5 Replies

Cheers! My name is Brandon Corrales and I'm an Air Force veteran transitioning into the Air National Guard (doing the part-time gig while I figure out what I want to do when I grow up). I'll be a full-time college student whilst working full-time. Like all of you, I dream of attaining "financial freedom" and after doing research on the many different investment paths, I have been convinced that RE investing is the best option. I have NO prior RE or investing experience but both seem like something I could see myself absolutely enjoying. Furthermore, I've developed a strategy to save enough cash to get started on investing; only thing is I dont know where to go from there! My strategy is basically to save enough cash flow in the next 3 years to get my foot in the door (between $18K - $30K). After this I am totally in the dark! Please provide feedback and let me know if, #1 this is enough capital to get started from scratch, and #2 what do/can I do from here? Thank you!

1) Define your strategy. What are you saving for? A MFH? A flip? 

2) Learn about house hacking. If you're in a college area and are able/willing to move, you could jump in much sooner by buying a MFH, living in one unit, and renting out the remaining units to students. 

3) Listen to one BP podcast a day and spend maybe 15-30 minutes a day here in the forums. Treat BP like a one-credit college course. 

4) Get involved in your local REIA.