Does Living in a Apartment hinder new investors?

16 Replies

I'm just as eager and ready to invest as the next guy, I'm a newbie who's done all of the readings, listenings, meetings, etc. etc. and now it's time to act. 

My biggest concern right now is my living situation. I live in a apartment and I want to know the opinions of the community here on if I'm thinking crazy. I have a fear/concern that I can't seriously consider investing while in an apt, because if something comes up that's a great deal let's say, tomorrow, I would still have 8 -9 -10 months left of my lease at the apartment and would not be able to buy it without a large (for me) 20-25% DP. 

If there is not a viable investment property to move into around the time my lease is up, should I just move anyway into a house? Solely to be rid of the apartment renting cycle? If not, I would risk either having to renew my lease or find another apartment and start back over in the cycle, no? 

Am I missing something? I struggle with seeing how to realistically start while in my apartment. Please help! 

I would say the first thing to look at is if you would be able to sublease your apartment. If you can, then that basically solves that issue. If not, I would talk to your landlord and just vaguely ask about what the procedure would be if you needed to break the lease.

The part that might hurt you is your lender looking at that fixed expense, but that will be specific to the lender. 

@Evan Parker You raise a valid point but before looking for deals, I would urge you to start educating yourself by learning about your preferred market, connecting with investors/brokers/lenders and doing your due diligence.

This will take up time but also provide clarity. You should read your lease to understand when and how you can "break" your lease and the penalties associated with doing that.