Trouble Refinancing as an LLC

20 Replies

Hello everyone! My name is Shelby Osborne and I'm a realtor with Keller Williams in Fayetteville, NC. My partners and I own a business called Five Pillars Real Estate, LLC, where we utilize the BRRRR strategy on residential and commercial real estate.

Our business is new, as we were officially established in May of this year (2018). We're off to a good start, having successfully purchased two properties since then and closing on our third soon. However, now that we've rehabbed and rented out our first property, we're having trouble with refinancing. We want to refinance under our LLC's name but numerous lenders have told us that they'll only refinance under an individual's name.

Has anyone else ran into this issue?  If so, what'd you do?  We're sure there's a way around this but we haven't figure it out.  Hopefully one of you can help!  

Thanks so much! 

Shelby 

Most lenders are fine with refinancing in an LLC but you will need to give personal guarantees. You probably also need to check with local or regional banks because the big guys are less likely to work with newer investors/businesses.

Very common. 

I work in banking, and I invest in Fayetteville. 

There are unfortunately no GREAT ways to get around this. You can get portfolio lender to give you the loan in an LLC and on their terms, but you wno't get freddie/fannie terms. if you want the good terms, it has to be in a personal name.

ALWAYS line up the financing before you buy the deal 

Thank you both, @Jeffrey Holst and @Alexander Felice for your input!

@Alexander Felice, we're finding this to be so true. Fortunately, we just heard back from a local bank today and they agreed to refi under our LLC's name. Since we had multiple accounts and ample cash with them, the manager was able to convince the underwriters to go through with the refinance.

Shelby Osborne, Real Estate Agent in North Carolina (#300149)

Five Pillars Real Estate, LLC