Why don't more real estate agents flip houses if it's so good?

49 Replies

I've been a home inspector for 14 years, and I'm just now getting into flipping houses.  I'm a total neophyte, for now.   But I'm curious about something.  If flipping houses is so good and such a lucrative business, why don't more Realtors do it?

I'm in an area where there are about 4,000 Realtors, but only around 300 members of the local REI group.

I couldn't help but wonder why.

I'm curious to hear what you have to say about it.

Thank you in advance.

Cheers!

Shane

@Shane Boyd Flipping houses at first to most portrays a high risk high reward. Most people and agents are afraid to take the risk. Of course, funding flips can be the main challenge as well. Given the overall RE market, we are all seeing more and more flippers. There’s money to be made, just have to fight over deals now!

@Shane Boyd Probably for the same reason you didn't flip during your first 14 years as a home inspector lol! I also find that a large majority of realtors don't like working with investment properties (there are many reason why that is), so they don't necessarily have the skills to pull off a successful flip.  Another reason may be that a lot of realtors are busy faking it until they make it and putting their own cash down on a flip to try to fake it, isn't something most people are willing to do. 

Making 3 or 6% for every house sold seems pretty nice to me...especially in this hot market. In my state, most of the hard work during the home sales process is done by the closing attorney, who makes about $800 per transaction.  What would an agent say if we told them they should make $800 per transaction.  :) 

I have an agent who will occasionally give me a good pre-market deal.  I'm buying one this month.  He said he was going to buy it, but "it just takes too much time and work to flip."  So I assume it's easier to make commissions.

Just my assumption.