Setting Criteria for Rental Property

14 Replies

Hello- I am new to real estate investing. I am hoping to purchase my first multi-family property by the close of 2018. One thing that seems to be uniform through out all my readings and studying is how important it is to set your criteria for what you want in a property and stick to it.

I have tentatively set my criteria, but I struggle with knowing if I have done a good job in doing this. I ideally would like a property built with in the last 30 years but then this limits my search. What do other investors think? I am looking in Massachusetts so we have a lot of older properties, some of which are redone and look very nice and rentable but I worry about dealing with maintenance issues that come with older properties.

Any ideas are welcome!

@Sara Taslitt Older properties can pose a problem if they were not maintained well, but they can also provide the charm that some newer properties won't. 

I would set financial parameters based on what you want your COC return, ROE, and monthly cash flow to be.

There are ways to control for CAPex in older properties, it is just more time-consuming. Find a good inspector that is trusted by professionals in your area and get a good pulse on the effective life of your big ticket items (Roof, HVAC, HW heater, etc.) and calculate out how much each will cost to replace, then do the math backwards for what you need to put aside for CAPex and maintenance. 

Also, for older homes, do not forget the likely extra expenses for electricity/gas due to them being leaky. 

It all comes down to knowing your numbers and what you want in your investment. 

Best of luck!