100K - Anywhere in the US, Where Would You Start?

6 Replies

Assuming you have no other major obligations or constraints (i.e. family, job, finances) guiding you and could pick any place in the USA to move and build/start a real estate portfolio, which city would you start?

You have 100k and the objective of your move is to start in a location which can build passive income short term (within 5 years), not just long term wealth investments.  A place for opportunities with high rent returns for relatively low purchase investments.

This question assumes you have good enough credit, debt/income ratio, income, etc that getting the loan will not be an issue.  

FYI, the reason I ask is that it just so happens, I'm in just this unique situation explained above and am curious where other's would pick.  I'm not a total newbie, but I have been buying properties while living and working abroad, with design, construction, and property management experience.  I want to make a move back with the sole objective of dedicating full time to expanding my real estate portfolio.

Thanks in advance to all who share!

I couldn't tell you, because looking at the short term goes against every fiber of my being, but from what others have said, Baltimore, Cleveland, and Western Pennsylvania may be options.