Best Options for a Negative Cash Flow Property

11 Replies

I'm new at analysis and real estate investing, but I have been renting out my previous house for ~3 years.

The property is in San Antonio, TX with renters leased out to April 2020. Below are the number breakdowns:

• Rent: $1495/mo (near the top for the area)
  • Mortgage: $1313/mo
  • Property Manager: $149/mo
  • HOA: $30/mo
  • Ins: $165/mo

Which is about -$160, before accounting for short or long term maintenance.

I was considering refinancing to buy more rentals, but I don't think it's wise to keep the negative cash flow. Right now we are considering a 1031 since we have a decent amount of equity in the house. Just wanted to see if there are better options out there or things we haven't thought of. 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

-Ben

@Ben Bruckman , Adding debt on top of negative cash flow is a recipe for bad things.  I think your gut's speaking right.  Sell 1031 and go into maybe less expensive better cash flow properties.  One thing that may be tough for you is how to get at that equity when anyone who buys it with that lease in place is buying negative cash flow.  You may want to approach the tenants with a lease option scenario.

@Ben Bruckman - I agree with @Dave Foster that refinancing on negative cash flow is a recipe for disaster!

1031 is a great way to go and I recommend using Dave if you choose to go that route. He's helped me with a 1031 exchange and is very knowledgeable and great to work with. 

With that said, an alternative to that is if you've lived in your house 2 of the last 5 years, you would qualify for a section 121 exclusion which essentially allows you to sell your house tax free up to 500k in profit if married or up to 250k in profit if single. This doesn't have any time restrictions like a 1031 exchange and in my opinion would be your best option if you qualify.