Looking for the Max Bang for My Buck with my Inheritance

9 Replies

I was a real estate agent for about 3 years until I was offered a job that I couldn't resist working from 8:30-2pm everyday with two little boys at home and very well paid so I let my REL expire.  I am now about to inebriate some money (low six figures) and want to invest in real estate.  I live in central Iowa by my parents live outside of Bastrop Texas and have started investing in rental properties around them. 

Long story short I am trying to decide if I want to invest in Iowa or Texas.  The rental property and even the fix and flip market seems a lot better in Texas.  I am only 32 yrs old and want to keep growing and building my portfolio.  I love the idea of rental properties but I also am excited about the idea of Fix and Flip. 

Do you start out buying rental properties or Fix and Flip properties? I want to keep my ROI between 20 & 25% and get the max bang for my buck starting out so I can grow.

Any suggestion or help would be greatly appreciated.  I know LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION but everything else involved and me being 1000 miles away would it work?

Hi Heather - I'm also 32 and invest in the DFW and Houston  markets. I will connect with you via private message but I'm a huge fan of Texas markets. There's a lot going on here; lots of companies bringing jobs, strong housing market even during rough times...I can go on and on. I think it would be a good idea to identify some SMART goals. The fix and flip would be great to generate even more cash. The buy and hold would be great as it would generate cash flow plus additional tax deductions. Lucky for you the kids are great deductions...I don't have any kids so my rental properties are a huge help when it comes to reducing my tax liability. I think once you have some very specific and measurable short and long term goals your answer will come! I hope this helps!