Wholesaling in Rhode Island

6 Replies

Hey Everone,

I am a college student and live in Providence, RI. I've been looking to get into wholesaling and was wondering if there were any bigger pockets members in the Rhode Island area that would be willing to impart some advice on how to get started in wholesaling. I've gotten some really good info online but, wanted to learn a little bit more about the specifics of the initial process. General tips and resources would be awesome. I would really love to connect with someone who has had some good experience. 

Thanks,

Francy 

Francy, I've done a number of wholesale deals. I can say, that while they are marketed as "the easy way to get started in real estate with no money or experience", in practice many (maybe even most) wholesale deals are stressful and maybe not ideal for beginners.

It's not to say a beginner can't succeed, but there could be a bit of a steep learning curve. I can count the number of "smooth" and "easy" wholesale deals on one hand, and I've done a lot of them.

The #1 thing you need for wholesaling is to find someone who is willing to sell at a cheap enough price (a "motivated seller") that it leaves enough of a profit margin for the end buyer (usually a rehabber) AND for your wholesale fee. That means marketing, marketing, marketing.

This usually includes direct mail, and a few other marketing techniques which could include pole signs (aka bandit signs), fliers, door knocking, calling on For Rent signs, "driving for dollars", hanging out in eviction court, etc. Bigger Pockets should have a lot of ideas & help for marketing methods.

But without a substantially below market deal, you pretty much can't wholesale. So it all starts with that, which means grinding through a lot of work marketing.