Ryan Smith
  • Kersey, CO
Votes |
Startup Ideas... What would you do?

Ryan Smith
  • Kersey, CO
Posted Oct 19 2018, 09:35

Hello all,

I am brand new to RE investing and have been fascinated by all the opinions and strategies posted by others! I am ready to move past the psychological stage and will be ready to move forward with this process feb-apr 2019. I would like to make sure I have all my ducks in a row and am utilizing available funds for best case scenario. 

My situation:

I have approximately 30k in startup funds at this time. I do have about 48k in equity tied up in my primary home. I am unsure as of now about taking a HELOC to invest and think I would prefer to get my feet wet prior to the HELOC, unless this is advised against. Current house hold income is 140-180k/yr with minimal debt besides primary mortgage.

My thoughts:

Looking at buying turnkey SFH properties in the 55-65k range. I would like these to be in C+ to B neighborhoods. Being out of state and having a W-2 job that demands 90-110 hrs/wk, it is not feasible for me to give the attention needed to the brrr method.

Goals:

Growth. The plan is to purchase 1 property in 2019 just to get a feel for things. Build reserves and funds back up, then purchase 2 properties per year from that point on.  I would be interested in 2-4 unit MFH if the funds are there to achieve it. Hopefully, within 3 years I can own 5-8 properties cash flowing a minimum of 150/door and the "snowball" effect will start to take hold. If I can grow faster, that would be optimal. However, I understand this is a long term game. Eventually, I would like to supplement enough income to scale back to a 40-50hr work week at my job and break away from the turnkey side of it to further maximize returns. 

Kansas City, MO

The price to rent ratio seems fantastic in this region. What I don't like is it's hard to identify optimal investment pockets.

Dayton, OH