Active duty military moving in 1.5yrs. Should I buy now or wait?

10 Replies

It is February 2019 and I am deploying in July for six months. I will then be moving to a new base in May of 2020.

So I have 6 months in South Carolina (where I am looking to buy), then deploy for 6 months, then come back for 6 months and then move.

I want to house-hack and rent it out when I move, but I am stuck. Being a new, younger investor, should I:

1) buy now before I deploy?

2) buy after my deployment (having saved up for a large down payment)?

3) buy once I move to a new location so I have more time and stability in that house?

Looking at a multi-family or SFH. I plan to use VA or conventional loan.

Thanks a lot!

- Josh

Josh,

Im by no means an expert on this but I'm a military guy like yourself so if I were in your situation, this is a way you might be able to proceed.

You fortunately know your schedule which helps a bunch.

Definitely use the VA loan so you don't have to worry about a huge down payment, you'll need money to close including the VA funding fee. 5-10k ish. start shopping for a lender.

IF you don't mind living in a duplex, you could find one that makes sense numbers wise and get that in your current location. Rent out the other unit while you are there. If you are feeling really froggy, maybe short term rent your side while you are gone.

When you move, rent out your side of the duplex, now you have two units. At your new location get another VA loan (if you are below the cap( $484,350) and start over again. Either get another multifamily or a SFH if you need a forever house.

Hopefully this helps! Again I'm a newb, if anyone has anything different feel free to correct me.

TL:DR:  Buy now, rent during, buy after moving too.

First and foremost, thank you for your service.  Here's what I recommend: