Investing in another city while still renting?

19 Replies

Hello Bigger Pockets community! I am a newbie investor (or at least trying to be). My boyfriend and I live in NY and well you can imagine how expensive it can be to purchase a home here so we are currently renting. We have enough money saved for a down payment and are able to utilize both a FHA loan (as this would be our first purchase) or a VA loan. We are looking for a multi family home where we are able to house hack and no longer have to pay rent. However with such an expensive market in our city we are finding it hard to find a home where the numbers make sense. My parents are working on their second home in Providence, RI and have suggested we purchase a home there. While I have found several homes in Providence that would cash flow nicely I am unsure if we should be making an investment while we are still paying rent. Has anyone done something similar or perhaps have any advice on what route we should take?

@Marielva Estevez hi! Welcome. I live in Queens also! Very good questions.

As the answers will varies, i invest out of state(South Florida) and renting in NY 🤷🏿 working well and cash flow...as all would agree be sure to have boots on the ground.

Best of luck!

@Marielva Estevez the key to investing out of state is to have a good team watching over and operating the property for you. If you're going to stay in NY and your parents are offering to help you with (or manage) an investment in Providence then that could be a no-brainer.

As far as investing while you're still paying rent, I think it's a non-issue. If you have excess income and you want to use it to try to build a nest egg for retirement, rather than spending it, then you probably want to invest in something. The question is whether that should be stocks or real estate (and if so, where), or some other asset class entirely.