How to value current home as potential first investment property?

4 Replies

Hi BP Fam!

Our primary residence is valued today at about $215,000. We're 8 years into a 30 year mortgage with $95,000 left at 3.875%. I'm new to investing and still in the learning stages.

We are in the early stages of building a new home and had originally planned to sell our current home to make the down payment - otherwise, we don't have the cash.

I'm now considering simply taking out a home equity loan on the current home for the down payment on our new build. This would allow us to keep the first home as our first rental, but I can't seem to figure out the numbers. 

I'm not sure which BP calculator to use - BRRRR or Rental... or neither, because the numbers come out much different.

I should be able to get $1600 or $1650 for rent and it will only need minor work when we move out - estimating $5,000.

Any advice on how to figure out if this would be a good first rental for our family? How would you evaluate this deal?

Hey @Meghan Custer I have a solid idea for you that I'll message you

But to answer your question, just use the rental calculator as the fixes you are saying are pretty nominal.

Make sure to budget aside % for vacancy, repairs, capex, management, etc. If after all budgeted items, it still cash flows, then itll make a solid rental.

Use the rental calculator. Basically you’re evaluating the house as a SF rental purchase. It doesn’t really matter that you already own it just keep it simple and see if it would makes sense buy the property as a rental. 

Does the rent cover the mortgage? Will there be enough left over for maintenance and profit? 

If the answer is yes then go for it.