Real wholesaler or snake oil salesman?

9 Replies

I'm very new to this aspect of the realestate world. And I am giving a good deal of consideration towards seeking out wholesalers for Leeds. At least until I am able to develop my own system of lead generation. My question is how would I know the best way of finding good wholesalers and then checking to make sure they are indeed good wholesalers with good leads.

Hi @Brian Judice and wecome to BiggerPockets!

Wholesalers should be judged mainly on the quality of the deals they put forth.

For example, if they are selling you a contract on a buy-and-hold property, the numbers should actually make good sense. Personally, I want to hold properties that can deliver at least a 10% cash-on-cash return on my investment. So, if I reviewed 10 deals from a wholesaler that are allegedly "great rentals," and I calculated that 9 of them would barely produce 5% COCR, I would stop looking at any more emails from that wholesaler and add them to my mental "snake oil seller" list!

Great advice, Mitch. 

When you say that you would review his 10 deals does that mean you go to other resources to confirm whether or not his numbers were true?  Are there red flags in wholesalers' estimates that make you realize their deals aren't based in reality? Do you research houses that a wholesaler doesn't send you pictures of?  Would you go to each individual house with a contractor to see how much work they really needed?  Do you use sites like Zillow, Trulia, etc to confirm the prices of houses in the area in different conditions?  Do you use rentometer or other sites to confirm rent?