Buying your first property

7 Replies

Hi everyone, this is just a question about your first buy on a property. Did you guys already have friends and acquaintances in real estate before you made the big leap on your first deal or did you just go for it and did more networking afterwords when you needed it?

Thank you for your time. :)

(P.S I am just a 21 year old guy trying to start early)

Hi @Ryan Pimental .  I'm closing on a triplex at the end of July here.  I'm a complete newbie here and I have no connections to anyone that knows about rentals or real estate.  When I was looking for a property I asked questions on BP and Facebook groups and through the process I became familiar with certain people and would be able to ask them specific questions which helped a lot.  Once I put an offer in and I started telling people what I was doing I found out that there were quite a few people that said they knew someone that was doing this and after maybe asking them a question or two they just said if I need help to ask.

So in short, I would just go for it.  You're not going to know what questions you need to ask and what things you need to look for.  Once a question comes up BP will be able to help guide you in the right direction.  Finally once you commit to doing something people will be willing to help too.  The big thing is actually doing something.  After you just talk about wanting to do something for a while people won't be as keen to help since you haven't done anything.

I spent the last 18 months looking for a place so in that whole time I asked questions but did a lot of my own research.  Once I was actually looking at properties and found things I didn't know about people were more keen on helping because I was actually doing something.

(I'm 24 years old)