New to BP and real estate: Introduction

40 Replies

Hello everyone, I'm Corey from Spotsylvania, VA. I am new to BP and real estate. My long term goal is to replace my W2 income with investment income from multiple sources. In regards to real estate, I aim at primarily investing in buy and hold, but I am not entirely sure where I'll end up and what I'll actually prefer.

Real estate background: The only experience I have inside real estate is owning my own home. I bought my first right out of the military in 2013. After about 5 years, I sold it and bought my current home.

Work experience: My profession is hands on and technical, so I guess I can claim that as a personal characteristic. As far as home repair experience goes, it’s all YouTube and asking around for me. I don’t have a background in home construction/repair, but I love learning and trying projects myself.

I hope to create lasting relationships through BP with experienced (or not experienced! I like friends!) and wonderful people. By January 1, 2020 I would like to finish my first deal.

Thank you in advance to all who will contribute to my future!

@Corey Martin I own a couple properties here in San Diego, but it's almost impossible to have positive cash flow anymore. One of mine I bought years ago, so I'm positive, but my other one has negative cash flow. I'm actually working on buying OOS right now, looking to purchase my first investment property in Memphis soon. It's just gotten too expensive here!

@Corey Martin Like Danielle says, there is a ton of information and people willing to help in these forums. I am from Denver and feel @Danielle Wolter pain about not finding cash flowing properties. I have a few properties as well and let me know if I can be of some help. Do not get discouraged and keep on trucking!