Help! Unsupportive fiancé

33 Replies

Hi all! I’ve been debating on whether to post this or not....

My fiancé has been unsupportive of my real estate journey. I start talking about real estate and he just tunes me out And doesn’t say anything. I told him I just purchased my first rental property and he didn’t even say congratulations or great job babe! 

He’s the type of person that hates his job and does nothing about it. I believe that if your not happy in life, do something about it, don’t blame the world or other people.

I love him and have been with him 7 years (still not married) but don’t know if it’s time to cut my losses and move on. We have no kids and he lives in my home that I own. I am 30 and really don’t want to start all over trying to find another partner. 

Do I stay or move on? I’m just beginning my journey in real estate and would like for my partner to be supportive but don’t want to start all over at the age of 30.

@Jay Hinrichs thanks for the mention. 

@Emily Smith what I share with you is for educational purposes only and is not considered professional counseling or therapy. 

From what you shared, it seams like your fiancé’s lack of support in real estate is only part of an overall problem with support. I can understand not wanting to start over because you have invested a lot of time and love into this relationship, however, if your trying to move in a direction he does not want to go in and you are hoping he will change, then you may be setting yourself up for frustration and disappointment. One thing that you may want to do to see if you truly are wanting to go in the same direction would be to create a shared vision board of how you would like your futures to look like. If he is not willing to do that or is really reluctant to do it, then considering moving on now may save you 2 or 3 years of waiting and hoping he will change.