Investment strategies in the greater Seattle area

11 Replies

Depends on your investment goals/objectives, risk appetite & whether you wish to be active/passive. You can do a lot with $400k and build a diversified portfolio - options range from SFR, MFR, flipping with value-add, buying land and developing, going out-of-state, to commercial syndicates on the other end of the spectrum.
If no prior expertise in real estate, then stick to simple - SFR w/ value-add (in your home market or out of state) & commercial syndicates, gain experience & knowledge and chart your path forward. 

All the best! 

Seconded Amit - if you can get specific about your skills and desires I’d be happy to get specific about what good options would be in my experience. Cheers!

I'm just starting out as a real estate investor. I'm looking for more of a long term passive cash flow. Although I am definitely interested in commercial syndication. But just like Amit said, I do plan to dabble my feet in small multifamily first. I am looking for a way to invest the money I have in a efficient way. Besides the $400k cash, would it make sense to take out a HELOC or HE loan on the $800k property, that way I can leverage more?

Hi @Hon Ching Lai ,

It definitely doesn't hurt to pull a HELOC on the $800k property. You wouldn't be incurring any charges or interest unless you draw from the actual line of credit. Thus, it's there if you need it, but doesn't have to be touched.

Looking for a small multi-family that cash flows will be hard in the Seattle area.  Aside from that, within Seattle city limits you need to be aware of the rental laws.  If you look further north and south than Seattle itself, you can find some properties.  What your actual criteria and strategy is would dictate the type of property, condition of the property and location.