Which Career Path Will Lead You to Your Goals Faster

8 Replies

Hey Bigger Pockets Community,

I'm currently being faced with an interesting dilemma and wanted some input. I work an OK 9-5 office job at the moment and have been presented with a few options. I've had an offer of another, better paying office job, and an offer of an equal paying contractor job.

I'm curious which one you all think would help propel me to my end goal faster. That goal being a full time buy and hold/BRRRR investor. I'm new to the biz, having only done 1 deal so far.

Does it make more sense to go after making more money to buy more properties faster? Or is it better to earn the same for now and learn the skills to put to use in rehabbing projects down the line? There is also potential to earn more money with the contractor position as my skills increase.

For easy numbers lets say I make 50k/yr at the desk job. The higher paying desk job is offering 70k and the contractor job is matching the 50k.

A few questions to clarify:

1. Is the contractor job salaried (It sounds like you are using the term "contractor" to mean an actual contractor who runs a job site, as opposed to an individual who works on a "contract" basis)? Or is that $50k an estimate of what you may earn based on who good business is? Essentially, how stable is the income for the contractor position?

2. Do you currently have a large cash position or assets to borrow against (is your current rental mortgaged?) for down payments? If you take the contractor job and it has unstable income, it will be very hard to get a loan