Get Real Estate License & Start Part time?

7 Replies

Good Afternoon BP Community!

I have been recently trying to decide to get my real estate license in order to transition my career into the real estate industry while also investing. I am a full time W-2 employee averaging between 45-50 hours a week at the moment.

My plan is to get my license in order to gain access to the MLS as well as increase the number of people I can connect with while being able to potentially add meaningful value. Along with that I'll be able to use the study material and class to gain a better grasp of real estate as a whole. Moreover, I figured i could start out by focusing on a smaller number of clients and deals to start out and then once I get some traction make the transition into full time realtor and real estate investor.

If possible, I’d like to hear some of your experiences and advice as to whether or not it’d be beneficial to start part time.

Thanks in advance!

Hey Andre, I'm new to the BiggerPockets forums with a similar question. I'm wondering if getting my real estate license is worthwhile, even if I have no interest in becoming an agent. I've recently embarked on a path to learn about becoming a real estate investor. I also wonder if the license would give me beneficial access to information from MLS.

I'm hoping some of the more experienced members will share their POV's.

Best of luck to you!

Hey Andre, 

I started out as a part time agent and it worked for me. You can do it, it will take some scheduling time and making sure your clients understand that. 

I utilize my google calendar, drive, task lists, and keep. 

You can do it man. 

Ben  

I'd say "no".  That is, 'no' to part-time.