Beneficial Day Jobs for R.E. Investor?

15 Replies

Hello BP Community, I'm a newer Pittsburgh investor who currently owns a duplex and is looking to grow my buy-and-hold portfolio.  I am very well studied, but now need to focus on improving my hands-on experience, skill set, network, and team.  Right now I'm looking for a R.E.-related job that could provide not only income, but potential networking and learning opportunities to become a better, more confident investor. 
My goals for the job:
-Allow me to leverage at least one of my main strengths: Analysis, Personal Interaction, Strategic Planning
-Accelerate mastery of a R.E.-related skill or put me around people that could grow my network and team
-If full time, if it could provide income that could at the least replace my current 45k per year, and ideally be able to improve my chances on paper at getting future refinance loans.  Also open to part-time options.
-I have a 4 year college degree, if that would matter for a particular suggestion.

So far, I've had suggestions like becoming an agent, an appraiser, and a property manager.  Feedback on those paths, and suggestions beyond those would be much appreciated.  I'm sure others have considered the same and would benefit from this thread.  Thanks in advance.

Hi Robert, Congrats on the new journey - REI is a fun endeavor to take on. I would recommend any type of loan originator position whether it be in the conventional or private space. You learn a lot about real estate, make a lot of great connections, and can use your personal strengths in this role. I love my job and I get to be surrounded in everything RE.

@Robert Zazac Great thread! I'll be following along; I've been interested in the same beneficial day jobs to help grow and make connections w/ REI. Thanks.

@Michael Noto Do you have any suggestions on how to get started in CT? I’m doing some research now; but any advice/tips would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.