How can I use my VA 0 down loan to invest in a multifamily home?

12 Replies

Hi, BP community! I am new to real estate investing and currently searching my area to make my first purchase on a duplex that I plan to owner occupy and rent out the other side. I'm stationed in Anchorage Alaska and cost of living and real estate is really expensive up here. Does anybody have any suggestions or insight as to how I can use my VA 0 down loan to benefit me in my first home purchase and create some cash flow?

Cash flow while you live there is almost certainly not going to happen, @Jeromy Jordan . It is also very unlikely once you move out. In expensive areas duplexes are difficult to cash flow as pure investment properties. Given that you will be 100% leveraged (actually 100%+ when you factor in the funding fee), it's simply not going to be in the cards. The duplexes I saw on Redfin don't look they'll come close to the 1% rule. You can certainly look into 3- and 4-unit properties, which are more likely to perform.

Now that doesn't mean you shouldn't do a MFR house hack. If you're able to lower your living expenses, build equity, and gain land lording experience, that's a win!

Feel free to share numbers. If you want to go through the analysis, I'm happy to take a look.