Dilemma with an ADU Conversion

14 Replies

I own a Duplex in Los Angeles and I want to convert the back storage unit into an ADU. I'm planning to demolish the storage and build the ADU from the ground up. The ADU is going to end up being 552 sqft and a one-bedroom. I've never done anything like this before, but I'm looking to learn from this. My plan is get a home improvement loan and hire subcontractors myself. I'm afraid of spending too much money on this conversion, a contractor quoted me at 100,000 and it scared the living daylights out of me. I heard if I do it myself I would save half of that. Do you guys think this is a good idea? or should I hire a contractor to do the work?

How much does it cost to build an ADU? Also, do you know any home improvement lenders you could recommend me?

If someone told you that your cost of hiring each sub on your own would save you half the cost of a general contractor, they are sadly mistaken.

A 500 SF ADU for $100k sounds like a very good price to me - generally speaking, but would need all details of the project and the site to be sure.

Assuming you have the footprint room on the lot, a multi family zoned property is allowed 2 detached ADU units. The cost to build an ADU on a multi family lot vs the cost to buy another door with land, etc is so much less which is why it is such a great new law for multi family investors. Any owner with the room should be adding these doors. You can typically get your investment back in 5-10 years with the typical average at 7 years. That equates to a very nice double digit return. On top of that, your combined NOI is increased thereby increasing the value of your multi unit property. Win, win.