New Graduate: Invest in Real Estate or Invest in 401k and RothIRA

11 Replies

Hello everyone, I am a recent graduate from college with a job that is paying decently well, approximately mid five figures. I have saved a lot from working throughout college and have approximately 20K in savings. As I begin to pave my way to financial freedom, I have been met with the question of investing in a real estate deal first or focus solely on 401k and a ROTH IRA. According to a financial planner, if I invest in both 401k and ROTH IRA at approximately $800 dollars a month I will be able to retire by 63. This sounds like a substantial money each month and the payoff would be around 40 years away. To be honest, I would like to achieve a level of financial freedom sooner than later. I would love to hear from others about their approach to this dilemma. Do you invest in both? Did you make your first real estate deal before opening an account? Or have you had success with only focusing on real estate? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

How old is your financial planner?  Are they near retirement?  Most financial planners are taught to tell you the lies that Wall Street makes up.  most financial planners don't make a lot more money than you do right now.

I maxed out my 401(k) for almost 20 years before I realized that vehicle would never allow me to achieve financial freedom.

@Greg Scott Hello Greg, thank you so much for the response! My financial planner is 35 years old, therefore not close to retirement. I have only met with them twice. They recommended maxing out ROTH IRA and putting additional funds into my 401k up to my companies match. They also recommend only keeping only 10k liquid and putting any other cash into a mid-term account invested in mutual funds.

What made you realize that your 401k was not the vehicle to get you to financial freedom? If you were my age (22), what would you have done differently?

Paige: