Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Alex Lesar
Votes |
First time homebuyer down payment or no down payment?

Alex Lesar
Posted May 11 2021, 06:24

Hello BP community! I'm brand new to this whole REI thing with a grand total of 0 investment properties...but looking to grow! I'm in the Air Force and will be stationed in Enid, OK for the next 3+ years. Looking to buy a few rental properties while I'm here to start building that asset column. I have some renovation experience so I was looking at doing some version of a live-in flip for a year (to take advantage of primary residence mortgages), move out and start renting the property, buy a new property, and repeat for 3 years - ideally with 3 cash flowing rental properties when I leave.

I have a home I'm looking at that my relator thinks we can get for $180,000 and based on similar listings can rent for around $1400/month...its a new-ish build so it won't need a ton of reno other than a few cosmetic upgrades (<$5,000). My question revolves around what type of mortgage should I use and what kind of down payment makes sense?

Option A: VA loan with $0 down. The property will cash flow around $125/month after I move out (conservative estimate)

Option B: Conventional Loan with 20% down ($36,000). The property will cash flow around $275/month because of the lower mortgage payment (again, conservative estimate)