ADU tips appreciated

14 Replies

Hi everyone, I am brand new to BP website. I have read multiple books from BP and listen to their pockets regularly. So I like in Southern California and as many of you might know the market here is pretty insane in regards to high prices. I am a current homeowner and I recently started to conduct some research into building an ADU at my current residence. I have an attached 400sq ft garage that I would be converting. Any tips, suggestions, or guidance from people who are familiar with ADU's would be very helpful.

Originally posted by @Javier G. :

Hi everyone, I am brand new to BP website. I have read multiple books from BP and listen to their pockets regularly. So I like in Southern California and as many of you might know the market here is pretty insane in regards to high prices. I am a current homeowner and I recently started to conduct some research into building an ADU at my current residence. I have an attached 400sq ft garage that I would be converting. Any tips, suggestions, or guidance from people who are familiar with ADU's would be very helpful.

I suggest you research how your ADU will be valued by appraisers. In many areas ADUs have a value far less than the hands off costs of the ADU addition. This means ADUs often start with a negative position. This negative position can consume many months, often multip,e years, of cash flow.

If the ADU adds a value less than the hands off ADU addition costs, this impacts the investment in that it can make it difficult to extract the ADU investment via a refinance. This limits leverage options.

Depending on how the ADU will be valued will significantly dictate if an ADU addition is a smart investment.

Good luck

I will echo @Dan Heuschele  here. I recently built a detached 1 bedroom ADU above a 2 car garage in San Jose. It had a horrible return. For the construction cost of $330K, the appraiser gave it a value of $190K. It was a total joke.